Skip to content

Restructuring

July 17, 2010

Let’s see, how do I explain this one. I’m going to put it as simply as I can. I’ve received two emails over the past two days in response to my blog. The first was incoherent, rambling nonsense that I couldn’t understand. I promptly deleted the email, assuming it was junk, only to receive a second email a few hours later. In short, someone who claimed to have a website with the same (or similar) name as my blog – Backyard Baseball – was upset that I had used the name for my blog. Ironically I can’t/couldn’t find this site anywhere, but that’s besides the point. Considering I wasn’t extremely fond of the name to begin with, it seemed like as good an excuse as any to make a few adjustments.

So, for starters, the blog not only has a new name but a whole new address. I’ve stuck with using the WordPress system to host my blog as I’ve been happy with the setup here. And, to my enjoyment, I was able to come up with a title that proves to be a little catchier and a little less cheesy.

Secondly, WordPress allowed me to import all of my posts from my old blog. I like the fact that I could just move things from one place to another as easily as I could. Plus, it’ll serve me well to have something in the archives while I continue to strive for opportunities to increase traffic here.

Third, the site’s undergone a total redesign. I figure if I’m “starting fresh” then I might as well re-work the appearance a bit. I’m planning on filling out my list of links over the next few days and getting my RSS feed up and running. So there are further adjustments/updates coming.

Finally, I’ve been working on an “about me” page that should be up within the next few days. Let’s face it, my writing is what will earn me a consistent following of readers. I might as well include a little about myself into things. You never know who might be reading.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

